Nestled in the historic district on 173 Meeting Street, the Meeting Street Inn offers distinctive lodging and unmistakable southern hospitality. It's elegant yet comfortable atmosphere is mirrored by Charleston itself. The ambience of the beautiful city by the sea is at your front door... just outside, the fragrance of Jasmine wafts though the air and the chimes of the church bells bring a certain calm to the soul.
The first building at 173 Meeting Street was occupied by the Charleston Theatre, which opened in December 1837. The theatre stood two stories high was made of brick and resembled Schinkel's Royal Theatre in Berlin. The building was completely destroyed in the devastating fire of 1861. Afterwards, the owner, Enoch Pratt, divided the property into four lots and sold the two northernmost lots to Adolph Tiefenthal.
Tiefenthal was born in 1832 in Dutz, Germany on the Rhine river and emigrated to Charleston in 1860. In march 1874, he hired D.A.J. Sullivan to build the structure that now stands facing Meeting Street. The ground floor housed a saloon, restaurant and a wholesale dealership in German beers and Rhine wines. He lived with his wife and three daughters in the second and third floors. A remarkable new comfort of the time was that running water was available throughout the entire building!
Tiefenthal died in 1878. Two years later his widow remarried to a Francois Obdenbeeck JR., whose Belgian born father was proprietor of the Pavilion hotel. For six years they made their home above the saloon, with her as saloon-keeper. In 1886, they closed their business to make room for their new tenants, the Atlantic Brewing and Ice Company. Just before the turn of the century, A George Homickel acquired the lease and opened the Salvory Club and Restaurant. This was a first class establishment, serving meals to order day or night, entertaining and catering to Charleston's wealthy merchants and landed gentry. Notice the extra-wide doors on the side entrance to the lobby. It is believed that Homickel had this custom entrance installed to accommodate ladies wearing hoopskirts.
In 1903, Tiefenthal's estate sold the property to a William J. O'Hagan, who for the next 38 years operated a fashionable boutique, Genuine Antique Etc. Between 1942 and 1980, an eclectic array of business have come and gone at 173 Meeting Street ... Auto Parts, Dental Equipment and Supplies, Liquor store, bicycle rentals, etc. Then, in 1981 the property was renovated, enlarged, and transformed into the Meeting Street Inn. The Inn thrived until it's parent company failed in the late 1980's. The Inn continued to operate, but fell into disrepair, and after Hurricane Hugo ripped through Charleston in September 1989, the property deteriorated badly.
In September of 1992, an accomplished Innkeeper, Frances F. (Franki) Limehouse acquired the property and immediately began extensive renovations to create a luxury inn and hotel in downtown Charleston. Her other restorations include the Indigo Inn at One Maiden Lane, the Jasmine House, at 64 Hasell Street, the Ansonborough Inn at 21 Hasell Street and the Baker House at 55 Ashley Avenue. Her Indigo Inn, a bed and breakfast inn completed in 1979, boasts seventeen consecutive years of the coveted AAA Four-Diamond Award As her premiere project, it helped spark the modern restoration movement that has transformed historic Charleston into the unique travel destination you find here today.